Star Guild Awards | Awards, Nominations, Photo gallery

Language: Hindi

First Awarded: Not Specified

Awarded For: Not Specified

Official site |  Facebook | 

This was previously known as the Apsara Film & Television Producers Guild Award. These awards are given by the Apsara Producers Guild to recognize excellence in film and television. These are the major awards given in the year 2004. The award is a 22-karat gold statuette which was sculpted and designed by the jewellery brand Tanishq and was "inspired by the rich heritage of one of India's most treasured possessions - the Ajanta and Ellora Caves. The awards were given based on votes conducted by the committee. The voting criteria was conducted amongst the 160 members. The first Guild Awards were conducted on May 28, 2004 in Mumbai, India. The Award was meant to honor the achievements in the film industry of the year 2003-04 film and television season. This award ceremony is conducted in the starting of every year. But later, fourth edition of the award ceremony (2008–09) was postponed to the end of the year as a sign of respect to the victims of the 2008 Mumbai attacks. Then in the sixth season of the award ceremony, the committee declared four separate awards were also given to honour the films and performances of December 2009; this included: Vidhu Vinod Chopra winning the Best Film for 3 Idiots, Rajkumar Hirani for his direction of 3 Idiots, as well as Amitabh Bachchan and Vidya Balan for their performances in Paa.